top of page

Where's the Mystery in Venice, Italy?


I did a ton of research about Italy, and especially Venice, in writing my popular novel, "Stradella's Revenge," but truthfully I had never been there. Imagination only goes so far for an author. I needed to see Venice for myself. So last month I rented an apartment for a week in Campo San Frari, and explored almost every corner and canal of this wonderful and unique city.

Of course, 3 1/2 centuries have passed since composer and musician Alessandro Stradella was assassinated in 1682 (an event vividly described in the novel), yet much of Venice looks the same. If you ignore the throngs of tourists and motorized watercraft in the grand canal and, as I did, ask a gondolier to take you slowly through the smaller canals, you will see the medieval intestines of Venice.

It was a stimulating adventure and an inspiration for yet another thrilling mystery story set in this most mysterious of Italian cities. My author's brain is cooking the plot. Stay tuned.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page